Northfield Park District
401 Wagner Road
Northfield, IL 60093


Established by referendum in 1957 as a special purpose unit of government as provided by the Illinois Park District Code.


The Park District was started in 1957 by “Mr. Northfield”, Jim Clarkson. While teaching Physical Education at Sunset Ridge School full-time, the Park District started out as a part-time proposition for Clarkson. The initial home for the District in the 50’s through the 70’s was Jim’s basement. Equipment was housed there, and a separate phone line was added to handle calls regarding programs. In 1980 Clarkson retired from Sunset Ridge and became the full-time Director. With the hiring of an additional full-time person and the Park District’s expanding programs and services, the need for a centralized office became apparent. The Park District moved to Sunset Ridge School, where it was housed in a 10-foot by 12-foot office. From 1987 to 1997 the Northfield Park District had offices in the Middlefork School. From April 1998 to the present the Park District has been housed at the Northfield Community Center. The Community Center was built with the unique cooperation of three entities (Northfield Park District, School District 29, and the Village of Northfield). The Park District owns the Northfield Community Center and the school owns the new gym. The school controls the gym from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and then the Park District takes over. The time available can vary during the school’s basketball season, and the summer months. Through this arrangement, each entity has first priority of the other’s facilities when not in use.


An elected Board of Park Commissioners consisting of 7 members constitutes the governing board of the Park District. Commissioners are elected to serve 4-year term. Commissioners serve without receiving any compensation.

Park and Park Facility Conduct - Ordinance 01-02


Commissioners elect from among themselves a President and a Vice President. The President and Vice President serve 1-year terms.

Appointed Officials

Commissioners appoint an Executive Director, Treasurer and Attorney/Secretary. The Executive Director serves as the chief executive officer for the Park District and carries out the policies of the Board.